I Had a Pinterest Fail But It Still Tasted Good

For months I have seen a recipe on Facebook and Pinterest that has intrigued me:

The pizza dipping stick.

That may or may not be it’s actual name.

Basically you roll up pepperoni and mozzarella cheese in pizza dough and bake it, then dip it in pizza sauce. I’m sure there are several (infinite?) variations to try, but I like my pepperoni.

Mom and I agreed that it was worth a try, but first we wanted some garlic bread pizza. So we made that (buy garlic bread, put pizza stuff on it, bake, and eat. So damn simple it’s a wonder I don’t do it more often!).

Approximately a week after making these delicious garlic bread pizzas and having leftover cheese and pepperoni, I decided it was time. I needed to know how this would work out.

I rolled out and cut the pizza dough into strips that I THOUGHT were big enough to support the meat and cheese (oh, live and learn, young Padawan), and proceeded blindly into this project.

I put as much pepperoni as I could fit into the dough strip. Then I grabbed the string cheese and separated it into several long pieces (because it would melt better that way, right?). Then I rolled it all up and set it onto the cookie sheet. (I am so glad I put foil down for this. Keep reading to find out why.) Repeat five times.

I put my creation into the oven and let it bake for approximately 10-ish minutes. I’m going to be honest, I didn’t actually keep time. I just let my nose decide. When it smelled as though I should get these bad boys out, I opened the oven to find cheese melting out of the ends and seams (foil! What a life saver!). The top of the sticks weren’t done, and the bottoms were a nice golden brown.

I turned the sticks over and let the bottoms brown.

After letting them sit for, oh…1 minute…I decided to just go for it and see how these tasted. I poured the sauce into a little bowl, and burned my fingers trying to get two of these onto a plate.

They didn’t taste too bad! Could they have tasted more like pizza? Oh yeah. Should I have brushed the sticks with some melted butter and seasonings? You’re darn tooting I should have! But they were edible . It’s fine.

I’ll do it differently next time.

Cooking is always an opportunity to learn. Remember that!

 

Love one another, spread kindness, and spend more time in the kitchen because cooking is fun!

Leave a Reply

